The Collected Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson: Essays, Second Series

By Ralph Waldo Emerson | Hardback
 Variations of this book were found.Click here to view them all >
 There are no reviews for this book.Read reviews or write your own >
Currently out of stock online, please contact your nearest store for availability

Emerson's second collection of essays appeared in 1844, when he was forty-one. It includes eight essays--The Poet, Experience, Character, Manners, Gifts, Nature, Politics, and Nominalist and Realist--and one address, the much misunderstood New England Reformers. Essays: Second Series has a lightness of tone and an irony absent from the earlier writings, but it is no less memorable: a sermon to me, Carlyle wrote, a real word. The present edition, drawing on the vast body of Emerson scholarship of the last forty years, incorporates all the textual changes Emerson made or demonstrably intended to make after 1844. It records variant wordings and recounts the development of the text before and after publication. A list of parallel passages makes it possible to trace Emerson's extensive use of material from his journals, notebooks, and lectures. Endnotes provide information about people, events, and now-obscure terms. A brief historical introduction places the book in the context of the years during which it was written, the time of Brook Farm, The Dial, and the death of Emerson's five year-old son. Historical Introduction and Notes by Joseph Slater Text Established by Alfred R. Ferguson and Jean Ferguson Carr Textual Introduction and Apparatus by Jean Ferguson Carr 


Dimensions235mm x 155mm x 33mm
PublisherHarvard University Press 
Release Date1 Jul 1984 

Write a review!

Log in or Register to write your review for this title.
Book Cover - The Collected Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson: Essays, Second Series