Auckland is moving back into Alert Level 3. Auckland stores are closed from 12pm Wednesday 12th August for at least 3 days.  Online orders delivered to your home address and Click and Collect orders are still accepted.  The remainder of the country is at Alert Level 2.  Further updates will be provided as we hear more. 

A Burning - pr_1776401

A Burning

Trade Paperback

$35.00

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Wish List
Delivered in 3 - 5 days
Available for Click and Collect
A girl walks through the slums of Kolkata holding an armful of books. She returns home smelling of smoke, and checks her most prized possession: a brand-new smartphone, purchased in instalments. On Facebook, there is only one conversation. #KolabaganTrainAttack On the small, glowing screen, she types a dangerous thing... 'If the police didn't help ordinary people like you and me, if the police watched them die, doesn't that mean that the government is also a terrorist?' Set in contemporary India, A Burning is the story of three unforgettable characters, all dreaming of a better future, whose lives are changed for ever when they become caught up in the devastating aftermath of a terrorist attack. Jivan - a poor, young, Muslim girl, who dreams of going to college - faces a possible death sentence after being accused of collaborating with the terrorists. Lovely - an exuberant hijra who longs to be a Bollywood star - holds the alibi that can set Jivan free, but telling the truth will cost her everything she holds dear. PT Sir - an opportunistic gym teacher who once taught Jivan - becomes involved with Hindu nationalist politics and his own ascent is soon inextricably linked to Jivan's fall. Taut, propulsive and electrifying, from its opening lines to its astonishing finale, A Burning confronts issues of class, fate, prejudice and corruption with a Dickensian sense of injustice, and asks us to consider what it means to nurture big ambitions in a country hurtling towards political extremism. A Burning is a novel for our times and for all time.

Product code: 9781471190278

ISBN 9781471190278
On Sale Date 05/06/2020
No. of pages 304
Dimensions 216x135x22
Edition Export/Airside
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
For readers of Yaa Gyasi and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.