OPERATOR - pr_1773100

OPERATOR

Trade Paperback

$34.99

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Wish List
Delivered in 3 - 5 days
Available for Click and Collect
'What if you could listen in on any phone conversation in town? With great humor and insight, THE OPERATOR delivers a vivid look inside the heads and hearts of a group of housewives and pokes at the absurdities of 1950s America, a simpler time that was far from simple. Think 'The Marvelous Mrs Maisel' in the suburbs - with delicious turns of jealousy, infidelity, bigotry, and embezzlement thrown in for good measure. The OPERATOR is irresistible!' Kathryn Stockett, bestselling author of THE HELP 'Just finished THE OPERATOR in an unstoppable rush and it was every bit as glorious, gossipy, delicious and perfect as I'd hoped. Absolute heaven!' Jill Mansell, bestselling author of MAYBE THIS TIME It's 1952. The switchboard operators in Wooster, Ohio, love nothing more than to eavesdrop on their neighbours' conversations, and gossip about what they learn. Vivian Dalton is no different (despite her teenage daughter's disapproval), and always longs to hear something scandalous. But on the night of December 15th, she wishes she hadn't. The secret that's shared by a stranger on the line threatens to rip the rug of Vivian's life from under her. Vivian may be mortified, but she's not going to take this lying down. She wants the truth, no matter how painful it may be. But one secret tends to lead to another . . . This moving, heart-felt and ultimately uplifting novel brilliantly weaves together an irresistible portrayal of a town buzzing with scandal, and an unforgettable story of marriage, motherhood and the unbreakable ties of family. 'Funny, sweet, secretive, and full of fascinating 1930s, 40s, and 50s period details... a poignant look at life in a small Town with its nosy neighbors, thorny families, imperfect romances, scandalous pasts, and gratifyingly just deserts. Nothing is as simple - nor as dreadful - as it seems' Laurie Frankel, bestselling author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS

Product code: 9781472264121

ISBN 9781472264121
Dimensions H232xW152xS28
On Sale Date 10/03/2020
No. of pages 352
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
A delightful, uplifting and moving novel about a 1950s switchboard operator who learns a shocking secret about her marriage when she eavesdrops on a phone conversation. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Help.