The Night Swimmers - pr_261095

The Night Swimmers

Hardback

$51.60

Or 4 payments of $12.90 with

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Wish List
Delivered in 10 - 14 days
Available for Click and Collect
1990s, Wisconsin's Door Peninsula- A man just graduated from college and a young widow, Mrs. Abel, swim together at night, making their way across miles of open lake. The meaning behind these night swims and the narrator's relationship to Mrs. Abel become increasingly clouded as the summer passes, until the night Mrs. Abel disappears. Twenty years later, the man brings his wife and two daughters back to the peninsula, attempting to understand his past. As he rebuilds a world he's lost with decades-old relics, he searches for clues to the fate of Mrs. Abel and begins to swim long distances in dark water once again. A novel of highly charged and transformative thought and soaring physicality, The Night Swimmers explores the depths of an identity in motion with lyrical insight and reflective imagination few works of fiction can summon. It lays bare what it means to come to terms with your fraught and weighted choices as you struggle to make peace with the person you've found yourself to be. Consonant with other Sebaldian re-inventors of autobiographical fiction, this novel is an exploration of unrelenting meaning.

Product code: 9781641290005

ISBN 9781641290005
No. Of Pages 272
Publisher Soho Press
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H210xW140
A bold, lyrical work of autobiographical fiction in the vein of Ben Lerner, Jenny Offill, and Maggie Nelson, and other Sebaldian reinventors of the genre.