Trinity - pr_119788

Trinity

Shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize

Hardback

$52.70

Or 4 payments of $13.18 with

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Wish List
Delivered in 10 - 14 days
Available for Click and Collect
'Brilliant . . . A richly imagined, tremendously moving fictional work. Its genius is not to explain but to embody the science and politics that shaped Oppenheimer's life . . . True and dazzlingly unfamiliar' Andrea Barrett, Scotland on Sunday 'Hall's explosive fragmentation of Oppenheimer's life makes for an original book, a novel of the unseen and finally, the unknowable' Erica Wagner, Financial Times 'Triumphant . . . Compelling . . . With beautiful specificity and nuance, Hall interrogates such major issues as ethis in scientific discovery and breaching the chasm between public and private selves' Vanity Fair From the acclaimed author of Speak comes a kaleidoscopic novel about Robert Oppenheimer - father of the atomic bomb - as told by seven fictional characters J. Robert Oppenheimer was a brilliant scientist, a champion of liberal causes, and a complex and often contradictory character. He loyally protected his Communist friends, only to later betray them under questioning. He repeatedly lied about love affairs. And he defended the use of the atomic bomb he helped create, before ultimately lobbying against nuclear proliferation. Louisa Hall, the acclaimed author of Speak, has returned with a kaleidoscopic novel about the father of the atomic bomb. Through narratives that cross time and space, a set of seven fictional characters bears witness to the life of Oppenheimer, from a secret service agent who tailed him in San Francisco, to the young lover of a colleague in Los Alamos, to a woman fleeing McCarthyism who knew him on St. John. As these men and women fall into the orbit of a brilliant but mercurial mind at work, all consider his complicated legacy while also uncovering deep and often unsettling truths about their own lives. In this stunning, elliptical novel, Louisa Hall has crafted a breathtaking and explosive story about the ability of the human mind to believe what it wants, about public and private tragedy, and about power and guilt. Blending science with literature and fiction with biography, Trinity asks searing questions about what it means to truly know someone, and about the secrets we keep from the world and from ourselves.

Product code: 9781472154040

ISBN 9781472154040
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H146xW218xS34
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
No. Of Pages 336
On Sale Date 01/11/2018
In the vein of Coetzee's Summertime or W.G. Sebald's The Emigrants, Trinity revisits the life of scientist Robert Oppenheimer as narrated by seven fictional characters who claim to have known him.