Our Auckland and Greater Auckland stores are currently on Alert Level 3 from Sunday 28 February - Saturday 06 March. You can continue to order online with home delivery and Click and Collect at all stores throughout New Zealand. Stores outside Auckland will be open as usual with safe social distancing advised.
The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heartwarming saga from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author - pr_177503

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heartwarming saga from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author

Paperback

$28.80

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Wish List
Delivered in 10 - 14 days
Available for Click and Collect
Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future... Curl up this winter with a heart-warming and poignant saga by Sunday Times best selling author Lyn Andrews. Set in Liverpool in the years before the First World War, Liverpool Matchgirl is the perfect read for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin or Call the Midwife. Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone. Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father? What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl: 'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars 'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars 'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Product code: 9781472228772

ISBN 9781472228772
On Sale Date 26/07/2018
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
No. Of Pages 368
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H196xW128xS30
Warm-hearted nostalgic fiction for all fans of CALL THE MIDWIFE. Lizzie Tempest is just 13 when she finds herself parentless and alone in Liverpool... From the bestselling author of THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET and LIVERPOOL SISTERS