Enemy of Rome -

Enemy of Rome

(Gaius Valerius Verrens 5): Bravery and brutality at the heart of a Roman Empire in the throes of a bloody civil war

Paperback

$32.20

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Favourites
Delivered in 10 - 14 days
Available for Click and Collect
Bravery and brutality at the heart of a Roman Empire in the throes of bloody civil war - Gaius Valerius Verrens returns in the new historical novel from a writer to rank alongside Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow. A gripping, adrenalin-fuelled historical page-turner from bestselling author Douglas Jackson. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens! "Once you have started you will want to read every volume in this exciting series set during one of the most turbulent times in Roman history" - 5 STARS "Douglas Jackson undoubtedly holds the crown as king of his genre" - 5 STARS"It is another tough book to put down" - 5 STARS"An entertaining and compelling read that makes you feel as if you were there!" - 5 STARS*****************************************LIVE BY THE SWORD. DIE BY THE SWORD.Summer, AD 69- Rome and its empire are in turmoil. The emperor Otho is dead by his own hand and his rival, Aulus Vitellius, occupies the imperial throne. However, a new challenge has arisen in the East - the legions of Titus Flavius Vespasian have declared him their Emperor.In the dry heat of an August morning, Gaius Valerius Verrens prepares for his last day on Earth. Wrongly accused of deserting his legion on the field of Bedriacum, it seems he is destined to die a coward's death. Then the executioner's hand is stayed. Vitellius' enemies will spare his life if he pledges allegiance to Vespasian. Valerius - tired of the endless slaughter - agrees.And so he must battle his way south to Rome in order to persuade his friend Vitellius to stand down for the greater good. But this is civil war and this is Rome, and Valerius - his loyalties divided and branded an enemy of the people - is trapped in a maze of distrust, corruption, betrayal and blood-letting . . .Gaius Valerius Verrens's adventures continue in Scourge of Rome.

Product code: 9780552167949

ISBN 9780552167949
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H198xW127xS31
Series Gaius Valerius Verrens
No. Of Pages 496
Publisher Transworld Publishers Ltd
Summer, AD 69. Rome and its empire are in turmoil, caught in the coils of a desperate and destructive civil war. The emperor Otho is dead by his own hand and his rival, Aulus Vitellius, occupies the imperial throne. However, a new challenge has arisen in the East - the legions of Titus Flavius Vespasian have declared him their Emperor.