Our Auckland and Greater Auckland stores are currently on Alert Level 3 from Sunday 28 February - Saturday 06 March. You can continue to order online with home delivery and Click and Collect at all stores throughout New Zealand. Stores outside Auckland will be open as usual with safe social distancing advised.
The Pharmacist's Wife - pr_349341

The Pharmacist's Wife

Paperback

$29.10

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Wish List
Delivered in 10 - 14 days
Available for Click and Collect
Edinburgh, 1869 Newly married, Rebecca longs for the life of a well-heeled gentlewoman. Her husband Alexander, a respected pharmacist, is eager to join pioneering fellow inventors in the history books. But beneath his ordered exterior, Rebecca is horrified to find a world of dark secrets. As she struggles with his infidelity and strange sexual desires, Alexander tries to pacify her so-called hysteria with his magical new wonder-drug, heroin... As Rebecca's forced dependence takes her further from herself, Alexander's desire to profit from his creation leads him along a path that blurs science, passion, and death. Soon, they both learn that addiction, obsession and vengeance make for a deadly alchemy...

Product code: 9781786492739

ISBN 9781786492739
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H198xW129xS24
No. Of Pages 400
Publisher Atlantic Books
Edition Main
A dark and thrilling tale of Victorian addiction, vengeance and self-discovery, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.