Auckland and parts of the Waikato are now operating under Level 3 restrictions with Click & Collect services now available at the majority of our stores. All stores outside of Level 3 areas remain open for in-store customers. Online orders will be available for all customers with some delays due to courier backlogs and lockdown procedures.
The Importance of Being Earnest and Other Plays -

The Importance of Being Earnest and Other Plays



delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Favourites
Sourced from our Overseas Supplier
Delivered in 10 - 20 days
Available for Click and Collect
A universal favorite, The Importance of Being Earnest displays Oscar Wilde's wit and theatrical genius at their brilliant best. Subtitled 'A Trivial Comedy for Serious People,' this hilarious attack on Victorian manners and morals turns a pompous world on its head, lets duplicity lead to happiness, and makes riposte the highest form of art. Written, according to Wilde, 'by a butterfly for butterflies,' it si a dazzling masterpiece of comic entertainment. Although it was originally written in four acts, The Importance of Being Earnest is usually performed in a three-act version. This authoritative edition features an appendix that restores valuable lines that appeared in the original. Also included in this special collection are Wilde's first comedy success, Lady Windermere's Fan, and his richly sensual melodrama, Salome, which he called 'that terrible coloured little tragedy I once in some strange mood wrote'-and which shocked and enraged the censors of his time. With an Introduction by Sylvan Barnet and a New Afterword by Elise Bruhl and Michael Camer

Product code: 9780451531896

ISBN 9780451531896
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H171xW106xS17
No. Of Pages 240
Publisher Penguin Putnam Inc
"The Importance of Being Earnest" displays Wilde's wit and theatrical genius at their brilliant best. This edition includes an appendix that restores the missing material from the original four-act version, as well as two other plays, "Lady Windermere's Fan" and "Salom." Revised reissue.