While it is Yet Day: A Biography of Elizabeth Fry -

While it is Yet Day: A Biography of Elizabeth Fry

By Averil Douglas Opperman

Hardback

$50.20

Or 4 payments of $12.55 with

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Favourites
Sourced from our Overseas Supplier
Delivered in 10 - 20 days
Available for Click and Collect
Elizabeth Fry was one of the nineteenth century's most extraordinary women. Born the daughter of a Quaker banker, she was eighteen when she commandeered a laundry room to begin her own school. At twenty, she wed Joseph Fry and, over their marriage, they had eleven children. But a charitable visit to Newgate Prison would change the course of her life, and of history, forever. Unable to ignore the plight of the female convicts before her, she determined to do everything in her power to right the injustices they faced... By her death, Elizabeth was famous amongst royalty, parliament and women on the street alike; respected by Queen Victoria; supporter to William Wilberforce; and influence on Florence Nightingale. This biography, told with verve and pace, and interwoven with extracts from Elizabeth's private diaries, will inspire and move you with the turn of a page.

Product code: 9781903360149

ISBN 9781903360149
Publisher Orphans Publishing
No. Of Pages 336
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H223xW145
WHILE IT IS YET DAY is the unputdownable biography of Elizabeth Fry. Radical social reformer and Georgian celebrity, Fry was one of the nineteenth century's most extraordinary women. Averil Douglas Opperman's book is perfect for fans of Mary S. Lovell, Amanda Foreman and Tracy Borman.