The Pursuit of Happiness -

The Pursuit of Happiness

Why are we driving ourselves crazy and how can we stop?

Paperback

$29.10

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Favourites
Delivered in 10 - 14 days
Available for Click and Collect
A very funny debunking of our obsession with achieving happiness, which will appeal to readers of Bill Bryson, Louis Theroux and Pamela Duckerman. 'Essential reading. So funny, so relevant, so fascinating ... I loved it' Marian Keyes 'A whip-sharp British Bill Bryson' Sunday Times 'Ruth Whippman is my new favorite cultural critic, and her book was such a joy to read' Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B (co-authored with Sheryl Sandberg) When British journalist Ruth Whippman moved to America it seemed that everyone she met was obsessed with one thing- finding happiness. Americans spend more money and energy on becoming happier than anyone on earth, but yet they are some of the least happy people in the developed world. So Ruth sets off on a journey to work out what's going wrong, and most importantly, what lessons we can all learn about what truly makes for a happy life. From nearly falling apart during a controversial self-help course promising total transformation, to investigating a 'happiness city' in the Nevada desert, from spending time with the Mormons in Utah to exploring the darker truths behind the positive psychology movement, Ruth tries it all. Along the way she stumbles upon a more effective, less anxiety inducing path to contentment.

Product code: 9780099592556

ISBN 9780099592556
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H198xW129xS18
No. Of Pages 288
Publisher Cornerstone
When British journalist Ruth Whippman moved to America it seemed that everyone she met was obsessed with one thing: finding happiness. So Ruth sets off on a journey to work out what's going wrong, and most importantly what lessons we can all learn about what truly makes for a happy life. In this book, she details her experiences.