Power & the People - pr_1746270

Power & the People

Five Lessons from the Birthplace of Democracy

By Alev Scott, Andronike Makres

Hardback

$42.50

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Wish List
Delivered in 10 - 14 days
Available for Click and Collect
Democracy was born in Athens. From its founding myths to its golden age and its chaotic downfall, it's rich with lessons for our own times. Why did vital civil engagement and fair debate descend into paralysis and populism? Can we compare Creon to Trump, Demokratia to the American Constitution or Demosthenes' On the Crown to the Brexit campaign? And how did a second referenda save the Athenians from a bloodthirsty decision? With verve and acuity, the heroics and the critics of Athenian democracy are brought to bear on today's politics, revealing in all its glories and its flaws the system that still survives to execute the power of the people.

Product code: 9781529402841

ISBN 9781529402841
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H220xW140xS30
No. Of Pages 272
Publisher Quercus Publishing
On Sale Date 12/11/2019
An enlightening, entertaining and bitesize book about how Ancient Athenian democracy relates to the most urgent political issues of our day, for fans of Mary Beard's Women & Power and Yanis Varoufakis's Talking to my Daughter about the Economy