Auckland is still operating under Alert Level 4 restrictions. However, the rest of the country is now operating with Level 2 restrictions, with all stores outside of Auckland now open. Online orders will be available for all customers with some delays due to courier backlogs and lockdown procedures.
The Black Kids -

The Black Kids

By Christina Hammonds Reed

Paperback

$27.10

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $49.99

Add to Favourites
Sourced from our Overseas Supplier
Delivered in 10 - 20 days
Available for Click and Collect
Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself. Los Angeles, 1992 Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It's the end of high school and they're spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley's not just one of the girls. She's one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family facade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them? Praise for The Black Kids: 'Should be required reading in every classroom' - Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin 'A prescient coming-of-age debut' - Elle.com 'Utterly brilliant' - STYLIST

Product code: 9781471188190

ISBN 9781471188190
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
No. Of Pages 368
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H198xW130xS22
Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.