These Violent Delights -

These Violent Delights

Paperback

$19.99

delivery message Free delivery for orders over $60.00

Add to Favourites
Delivered in 3 - 7 days
Available for Click and Collect
Deliciously dark' Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . . The brilliantly imaginative New York Times bestselling fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet set against the immersive backdrop of 1920s Shanghai. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal. But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule. Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping debut is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane. 'Heady, smart, and vicious' Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear 'Deliciously dark' Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire 'Dark and beautiful' Emiko Jean, author of Empress of all Seasons 'A terrific, deliciously unputdownable read' June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones

Product code: 9781869714703

ISBN 9781869714703
On Sale Date 09/11/2021
Dimensions (HxWxD in mm) H197xW132xS29
No. Of Pages 478
Publisher Hachette Aotearoa New Zealand
Deliciously dark' Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . . The brilliantly imaginative New York Times bestselling fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet set against the immersive backdrop of 1920s Shanghai. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal. But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule. Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping debut is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane. 'Heady, smart, and vicious' Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear 'Deliciously dark' Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire 'Dark and beautiful' Emiko Jean, author of Empress of all Seasons 'A terrific, deliciously unputdownable read' June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones

Customer Reviews

2 reviews
I loved it!

Cleo - September 2021

I LOVE THIS BOOK. It's fast paced and gets straight into it which is great. I live the main characters. ENEMIES TO LOVERS VIBES. The main character has relatable moments which I find great. The plot is well written and planned out. This book is easy to follow which I'm surprised about. So many moments made me gasp, cheer, and cry. It's such a fun book to read.

A kin to Romeo and Juliet but set in bustling 1920's Shanghai

Clay- Masterton Paper Plus - February 2021

Chloe is Chinese-born and resides in Auckland New Zealand, she’s young in her early twenties and has burst onto the New York bestselling list with her debut novel: “These Violent Delights is the start of a fresh retelling of the much loved play Romeo and Juliet, set now in bustling 1920s Shanghai. However, Gong has already shown by this book that her retelling will be like nothing before. Adding to the staple rivalling families and cliché forbidden lovers, Gong mixes in the threats of a mysterious monster roaming the city, a demonic disease forcing the unfortunate to tear out their throats, and the rising Communist Party puppeteering a mutiny against the ruling gangs. Gong’s unique setting paired with her graphic writing drags you straight into this ambient novel which is perfect for fans of the ‘Conquerors Saga’ or any lover of Shakespeare.”